Last days !

We are open on Saturday 22th, Sunday 23th, Sat. 29th, Sun 30th december. 

From  2 pm to 5 pm

Maison du diable, Rue des Creusets 31, 1950 Sion

"Fellini was, for me, a great source of inspiration. La Strada and 81/2 were magnificent but I like all of them.  Each movie is its own world; I love the characters, the atmosphere and the intangible je ne sais quoi that emanates from every one." 

David Lynch

David Lynch met Federico Fellini in his hospital room in Rome in 1993.  It was a meeting which would have a profound effect on the American director as, only a few days after his visit, Fellini fell into a coma from which he would never recover.

But beyond a personal connection, a real artistic and intellectual affinity between Federico Fellini and David Lynch can be detected in their respective works and their lives. Both originally pursued a career as an artist – the Italian Maestro as a satirical cartoonist and the American director dreamed of becoming a painter at the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts – but eventually poured their incredible talent and their fascination with dreams and the subconscious into the silver screen. Several of their films, such as Fellini’s 81/2 (1963) and Lynch’s Mulholland Drive (2001), have earned their place in the Pantheon of world cinema.

An artistic kinship and a memorable encounter are at the heart of this homage by David Lynch to Federico Fellini, featuring a series of works unveiled for the first time at the Maison du diable, the cultural centre of the Fellini Foundation in Sion.

DERNIERS JOURS !


Nous sommes encore ouverts sam 22, dim 23, sam 29, dim 30 décembre de 14h à 17h.

 

Passez de belles fêtes de fin d'année !

"Fellini a été pour moi une formidable source d'inspiration. J'apprécie énormément La Strada et 81/2 - mais en fait je les aime tous, et, à nouveau, parce que chacun est un monde, j'adore les personnages, l'atmosphère et ce je-ne-sais-quoi d'insaisissable qui se dégage de chacun de ses films."
David Lynch

David Lynch rencontre Federico Fellini dans sa chambre d’hôpital à Rome en 1993. Les circonstances de cette entrevue ont profondément marqué l'esprit du cinéaste américain car, quelques jours après cette visite, Fellini tomba dans un coma dont il ne se remettra pas.

Mais entre Federico Fellini et David Lynch, au-delà d'un lien personnel, on devine au travers de leurs œuvres respectives et de leur vie, une réelle affinité artistique et intellectuelle. Aspirant d'abord l'un comme l'autre à une carrière d'artiste - le Maestro italien comme dessinateur satirique et le réalisateur américain rêvant de devenir peintre en suivant l'école des Beaux-Arts de Philadelphie - ils mettront pourtant tous les deux leur incroyable talent et leur goût prononcé pour l’exploration du monde des rêves ou de l'inconscient au service du 7e art, inscrivant plusieurs de leurs films, tels que 8 1/2 (F. Fellini, 1963) et Mulholland Drive (D. Lynch, 2001), au Panthéon du cinéma mondial.

Une parenté artistique et une rencontre mémorable sont ainsi à l'origine de cet hommage exceptionnel que David Lynch rend aujourd'hui à Federico Fellini en créant une série d’œuvres présentées en première mondial à la Maison du diable, Espace culturel de la Fondation Fellini à Sion.